Chocolate Avocado Pudding – Breakfast of Champions!

Alas, I can’t seem to get a steady flow of posts going. Lately it seems I’ve been posting once every 6 months – yikes! Here I am, to make another attempt. Short story news: off thyroid meds, apparently didn’t need them at all, and I feel much better since (dumb doctor, glad I got a second opinion). Next, I stopped eating gluten a couple months ago, since I still wasn’t feeling top-notch, and I do feel much better now. My battle with resisting pizza has ended – the last time I ate a piece (maybe a month after going gluten-free), I thought I was going to die. Maybe not that extreme….but my stomach hurt, badly. Not going to make that mistake again any time soon. I’m feeling much healthier these days, and my body seems to be functioning more normally that I can remember in years. Feelin’ pretty good 🙂

I recently discovered the bliss of a new recipe – and it involves CHOCOLATE! And, of course, it’s allergy friendly. It’s full of healthy fats and doesn’t have any refined sugars, and you add protein via the almond butter.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

1 ripe avocado (very ripe is good)
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 C cocoa powder
1/4 C agave, maple, or honey (I used grade B maple – rich and tasty)
6 Tbs milk of your choice (I used unsweetened coconut milk, which is my favorite for pretty much everything)
almond butter to taste and consistency (I only used a spoonful)
a dash of cinnamon (optional)

Throw it all in a blender, and enjoy! I mixed in sliced banana and strawberries right before eating, which was delightful for taste and texture. For those of you that are nervous about the avocado – don’t be. You can’t taste it, and it stands as the rich, creamy base for the delightful chocolate.

I have been enjoying my days off with this beautiful weather – canoeing yesterday, hiking today. Are you doing anything fun outdoors?

Leave a Reply

