Rugged Maniac 5K!!

I have been wondering over the past couple weeks about what new goals I should set for myself now that I’m achieving my first set. I don’t want to get crazy ripped at the gym, but I still have some progress I’d like to see in myself. And I also want to keep pushing myself and make sure that the gym is always this important and essential to me. My questions were answered after clicking on a Facebook side ad for something called the Rugged Maniac 5K (after being inspired by a lovely lady in one of my classes who ran the Tough Mudders recently, which is 10+ miles!).

http://www.ruggedmaniac.com/tristate.html

This is exactly what I need. I’ve never ran in a race before, so this is a new adventure for me, and I figured a 5K is a good place to start. But this isn’t just a 5K – this is a mud run. 3.1 miles of mud, obstacles, and lots of crazy fun. I’m talking 3-7 foot barrier walls, pools of water, tunnels, hanging tires, suicide slides, jumping over fire (yes, FIRE), cargo nets, etc. And to top it all off, I get pictures, a rockin shirt, a free beer, and an after party with live music. This is going to be the COOLEST experience ever. I am excited not just for the race, but for the challenge, the training, and the sense of accomplishment. This is going to be my ultimate celebration for getting in shape.

I’m signed up, I paid for it. I’m ready to KILL this thing.

Okay, maybe not quite. I have a lot of training ahead of me for the next 11 weeks. I am doing fairly well strength-wise. I’ve read some blogs from people who have done this race before, and many people said that they didn’t concentrate enough on upper body strength. This is a different race than normal 5K’s – we’re going to be crawling and climbing and scrambling the whole way. So I’m planning on strength training 3 days a week, one day each for abs/core, lower body, and upper body training. Then the other 3-4 days a week, I’m going to be running, running, running.

The running starts TONIGHT. As of right now, I can run 2 miles on the treadmill without stopping, at about 11:10 each for time. I have a plan for building up my running strength and endurance. For the next month I’m just going to focus on running inside and building up to running the 5K nature trail setting on the treadmill. Then for the next month or so I’ll work on running outside on a track, starting at 2 miles and working up to 5K again. Then for the last couple weeks before the race, I hope to be running on the beach to really push and prepare myself. I’m not concerned with time; I just want to be able to run the whole way through. This is a reasonable goal to set for myself, I think.

I don’t expect my training to be easy. I’m going to be hard on myself – but I am so STOKED to do it. I’m ready to push myself towards this goal, even if it means lots of plyo. Every time I start thinking about the Rugged Maniac race, I get so pumped up! I have to focus on calming myself down actually, the last couple nights I have to really try hard not to think about it before bed because it makes my heart rate speed up! This is good though.

So I’m going to blog throughout this process, the challenges and the excitement. I plan on blogging at LEAST once a week, but I’m going to try hard to do it more often than that. Wish me luck! [for the race, that is!]

Leave a Reply

