Is my food toxic?

I have battled with chronic headaches for some 6 years or so. The pain was mainly present in my neck, and if I left it long enough, would move up and sit behind my eyes. Instead of dealing with the pain, I would, of course, take a couple excedrin or ibuprofen when I first started feeling the pain and hope to cut it off. Unfortunately, this meant taking these painkillers at least once a day, sometimes twice or on a rare occasion 3 times a day! I didn’t really think of it at first, because it was taking care of my pain. But I started paying attention when I realized that I was going through those bottles pretty darn fast. I don’t think that I was addicted, because if I didn’t have a headache, I never took them. The problem was that I had a headache nearly every day, and I can’t imagine the damage that I’ve done to my poor liver.
When I was in high school I worked at an organic grocery store, Mountain Valley Foods (definitely my favorite job so far – I worked there for over 2 years). I discovered Peach Detox Tea, by Yogi and decided to try it, for simple detox reasons. It’s now one of my favorite herbal teas – no caffeine, has a nice flavor and you can’t leave the bag in too long. One of the problems with other teas, especially green teas, is that they can get very bitter if you leave the tea bag in too long. That isn’t the case with this tea – I’ve left one, even two, tea bags in my mug for hours, and the tea still tasted great after that. And that great flavor is purely the tea – it’s the only tea that I’ve been able to really enjoy without adding sugar, honey, or a splash of milk to. It’s great just the way it is.
What I didn’t expect, after drinking one or two cups a day for a couple weeks (at least), was for my headaches to stop coming. I realized that I wasn’t taking excedrin nearly as often, and when I thought of it, it had been at least a week since I’d had a headache. That made me wonder about the cause of my headaches, if a simple cup of detox tea can prevent them.
We moved to Virginia, and I forgot about the tea, mostly because I haven’t found an organic food store down here. When we moved into another apartment complex, a year after living here, I started shopping at another  grocery store that carries mostly organic produce and has a couple aisles devoted to organic/natural foods. I stumbled upon the tea again, and immediately bought a box. I haven’t been as good about drinking it, and enjoy about a cup a week probably.
When I started this 500 mile club 2 months ago, I made the decision to eat healthier. I started to weed out unhealthy foods – fast food, ice cream, soda, candy bars, baked goods, red meat, etc. This was hard for me, because I have had an intense sweet tooth for a couple years now. But I realized with all of these foods, that the longer I went without having them, the less I wanted them. I don’t really crave sweets anymore. I don’t really crave cheeseburgers and fries anymore. During this second month I really changed my diet. I am not ON a diet, I eat healthier as a part of a lifestyle change. I eat to put nutrients in my body, and to fuel and repair my muscles after my workouts – I don’t eat just to eat (mostly – it’s okay to have a cheat day every once in a while. For me, that day has been about once a month).
In this change of diet, I decided that I wanted to stop taking the excedrin as often (I had returned to taking it at least once a day after I stopped drinking the tea). But it wasn’t something that I needed to try very hard to accomplish – in my change of diet, the frequency of my headaches dropped drastically. Now, I take excedrin once or twice a week instead of once or twice a day.
This raises an issue – if drinking detox tea prevents headaches, and eating healthy foods (and thus not eating unhealthy, highly processed foods) prevents headaches – are some foods that we put into our bodies actually toxic?
I think the answer to this question is a resounding “yes”. Non organic produce are coated with pesticides, fungicides, and waxes that have ingredients that are linked to cancer. (I can post another blog about that issue). Red meat is very hard to digest and is packed with fat. Have you taken a good minute to actually read through the ingredient list on your food items? The more items on the list, the more chemical names that you don’t know anything about, the more unhealthy the food is for your body. It’s simple.
I can go on and on about food – the presence (or absence) of vitamins and minerals is much more important than people realize. Many many health problems can be solved, and more importantly prevented, if we are adequately nourished through our diet. If you eat highly processed food, I think that it’s safe to say that you’re poisoning your body. People say that organic food is expensive – but let me ask you this – Isn’t it worth spending a little more money now on healthy food than to wait and spend thousands on health care later?

One thought on “Is my food toxic?

  1. You are SO right. I get very irritated when people tell me, well organic food is more expensive. What’s more important? Your health or your pocket book?

Leave a Reply

